Cheers to Life – Few Short Stories……

picture

FALL & RISE: Today, when I slipped on the wet tile floor a boy in a wheelchair caught me before I slammed my head on the ground. He said, ‘Believe it or not, that’s almost exactly how I injured my back 3 years ago and there was no one to help me.

LOOKING BACK: Today, I interviewed my grandmother for part of a research paper I am working on for my Psychology class. When I asked her to define success in her own words, she said, ‘Success is when you look back at your life and the memories make you smile’.

TRY AND YOU SHALL KNOW: I am blind by birth. When I was 8 years old, I wanted to play baseball.  I asked my father, ‘Dad can I play baseball?’ He said, ‘You’ll never know until you try.’  When I was a teenager, I asked him, ‘Dad can I become a surgeon?’ He replied, ‘Son, you’ll never know until you try.’  Today I am a Surgeon, just because I tried.

GOODNESS & GRATITUDE: Today, after a 72 hour shift at the fire station, a woman ran up to me at the grocery store and gave me a hug. When I tensed up, she realized I did not recognize her.  She let go with tears of joy in her eyes and the sincerest smile and said, ‘On 9.11.2001, you carried me out of World Trade Center.

AFFECTION: Today, I kissed my dad on the forehead as he passed away in a small hospital bed. After about 5 seconds after he had passed away, I realized it was the first time I had given him a kiss since I was a little boy. I had lost the opportunity to hug and love him a long time back.

SHARING: Today, I was traveling in Kenya and I met a refugee from Zimbabwe. He said he had not eaten anything in over 3 days and looked extremely skinny and unhealthy. Then my friend offered him the rest of the sandwich he was eating.  The first thing the man said was, ‘We can share it.’

THE POWER OF UNIQUENESS: Today, I asked my mentor, a very successful businessman in his 70’s, what his top three tips are for success. He smiled and said, ‘1. Read something no one else is reading.  2. Think something no one else is thinking. and 3.  Do something no one else is doing.

These were all people who took up life’s challenges bravely and faced them no matter what in a cheerful manner.  Live simply, Live abundantly and Live in the moment.  A Big Cheers to Life.

109 thoughts on “Cheers to Life – Few Short Stories……

    1. Thanks so much for your superb words Elizabeth and I feel so happy knowing that. The stories in themselves were so true and beautiful and yes life is exactly like the stories simple and true. My parents are no more dear and I am sure they r there with me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My parents are no longer on this earth either – a reminder to love people in the physical while we can.

        Great little stories here, Kamal. LOTS of reminders.
        xx,
        mgh
        (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
        ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
        “It takes a village to transform a world!”

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thanks Madelyn and yes every living being on earth is to be loved and it feels so nice to do so just like these cute little stories where there is only love and positivity in them. Cheers to all of us. Love and Hugs to you and tink too.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on Dagget Writes and commented:
    I was moved to the point that I needed to take a breath after reading “Affection.” My father died on a hospital bed in my mother’s house maybe six days after I saw him, made my peace, and kissed him on the forehead. He wasn’t necessarily coherent, but the unspoken words between us both could have been eaten as a meal called “Regret for not showing each other affection for too long.” “Sharing” warmed my heart right after. I tend to skew to the darker side of things, but this did really make me smile. People aren’t always that bad. Thank you for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the beautiful comment dear friend and these stories are eye openers in themselves and bring out what we r missing in life. So nice u made peace with your dad and he must have felt so happy that u were there with him just few days before he passed away. He is surely there with u in spirit so no need to feel bad u can still call him he will hear u. Keep positive and be cheerful at all times.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Heүa! Ӏ ҝnow this is sort of off-toⲣic but I neеded to ask.
    Does rսnning a well-established website ⅼike үours requirе a mаssive amount work?
    I’m complеtely new to running a blog but I do write in my Ԁiary dailу.
    I’d like to start a blog so I cɑn share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if y᧐u have ɑny suggestions or tips for brand new
    asрiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    Like

    1. Thanks dear for your lovely comments. Ya and really cheers to life to the people who really work for the well being of others. Do not worry it happens, even I write for my own pleasure and it happens so you can look up writers and how they write and be a little inspired by how they do so. When we are freshers it happens.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

